Big boy room reveal

For the past eight weeks I have been transforming a plain builder grade bedroom into a beautiful space for my four year old.

He requested red and trains. Now as much as I love him I could not quite bring myself to paint the room red. We settled on hampton surf blue by valspar, with heavy red accents. This room has a traditional modern feel. With a hint of eclectic? Labels are hard. I do know that when it came to the decor I did not head to home goods or hobby lobby. Almost everything in the room is thrifted, found on the curb for free, or repurposed from another area in my home.

Speaking of free finds! This vintage dart board is such a gem. My husband came across it sitting beside the dumpsters when he took the recycling, and boy do I feel like the luckiest wife in the world when he brings home (seemingly) trash for me? Because it is not trash it is treasure! I covered the inside with fabric and used my nail gun to add a couple shelves also covered in fabric to make it a safe splinter free spot for my little guy to store his trains.

Fabric attached with hot glue

Before we get too swept up in the decor let’s take a step back to the before and what DIYs I did to transform this room. I refinished the red oak, you can find a post about that under “red oak” last year I did all the main rooms but left the bedrooms that 60s orange. One by one we will remove it!

After
Before

Next up was painting and trim work. I added a pine mullion chair rail which is a very affordable option($45 for the whole room) and I also added crown moulding. I used polystyrene which is an almost styrofoam like product that is also very affordable. ($40 for the whole room!)

I used my nail gun and miter saw to cut and install both the CHAIRRAIL and the crown.

I next reinstalled the quarter round that I had taken off prior to doing the floors.

TIP: label the back of trim you plan to reuse ♻️

The crown, chairrail, baseboard, quarter round, doors, and bottom of wall are all painted satin hampton surf valspar. The ceiling is flat hampton surf.

Now let’s talk about that plaid! This is the tartan wall stencil gifted to me by cutting edge stencil. I wanted the character of plaid without the cost of wallpaper.

Tartan wall stencil

This was my first time stenciling and the process was pretty straight forward. I used spray adhesive on the back to stick it to the wall, rolled paint with a foam roller and removed the stencil. Repeat 45 times 😅

I tried various methods to clean the stencil.

I stopped to clean the stencil when the residue started to build up and I wasn’t getting crisp lines anymore. The goo gone worked the best for the spray adhesive and blue dish soap worked best for the paint.

Mcm dresser flip
The last BIG project in the room!
Go ahead and scroll back up I’ll wait!

Can you believe it? Another free roadside fine, left for trash but now treasure! I started by stripping away layers and layers of paint. I repaired the drawer with wood glue. Fortunately the original joints were intact.

Veneer after stripping and sanding

I was able to save the veneer on the majority of the dresser which after some research I found out was made in 1960 by Dixie furniture. I used fine grit sand paper 320/180/120 after stripping to get to the veneer without damaging it.

Sealed the vaneer with water based polyurethane

The veneer on the drawers was not salvageable. I wood filled the cracks and chips and painted them fly by night blue by valspar in semigloss.

And that’s that! Let me share the after pictures of the room and stop going on and on about how we got here! If you enjoy this follow along on my Instagram to see everything I do in real time!

Curtains are also a DIY. (Flat twin sheets!)
Can you believe that 60 year old vaneer?
Rug is safavieh

This whole room was done as part of the one room challenge. Check out all the participants through the link below.

Thank you for reading! If you have any questions do not hesitate to reach out through email or Instagram! @beckysbrickranch

One response to “Big boy room reveal”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started